Tania Culottes by Megan Nielsen

I think the closest I’ve ever worn to culottes were ‘skorts’ as a child and I don’t think I’ve ever looked at a pair and thought they were fashionable. Until now! This pattern is adorable. These got in my head and I just couldn’t get them out until I found myself buying the pattern around 10pm and having to force myself to wait until the morning to start sewing it.

DSC_0048b

I wish I could tell you what type of fabric this is but I have no idea since I bought it at a thrift store. It almost felt like silk to cut through but is thicker like cotton. I had just enough to eek out a medium/large-ish size and to add an extra two inches to the hem. If this were a real skirt that still wouldn’t be enough length to chase a baby around all day but since these are really shorts it’s perfect!

IMG_4592

The only picture I took while making these is a grainy cell phone shot.

The construction was much easier than I was expecting and the instructions were very clear. Before buying the pattern I couldn’t think how the crotch seams were hidden so well but had an *Ah Ha* moment going through the pattern. It’s really effective.

DSC_0096b

DSC_0087b

Don’t mind me, I’m obviously still excited by a twirly skirt!

Linked to:

BLOG TITLE

4 thoughts on “Tania Culottes by Megan Nielsen

  1. I like this pattern very much! It probably wouldn’t be out of the question to modify the pattern down to floor length, would it? I could ride a camel, or a donkey in that, and never show off your great grandmother’s legs (I noticed you on the other hand got your gram’s pretty legs!) You still look adorable in a twirly skirt, sweetie ;^)

Leave a Reply

