Back From A Break

December/early January is really busy around here (in the best way!) there’s birthdays, Christmas, anniversaries, holiday leave, and visiting friends galore. It doesn’t leave much time for sewing and everything I’ve made lately were Christmas presents anyways, but now that the last of the presents have been exchanged I can share them here! Plus a few extra pictures of what’s been keeping me occupied lately. I didn’t manage to take any decent pictures of anything I made so don’t get too excited.

Stockings

We had a semi-handmade theme for Christmas this year. I used this free pattern to make stockings for each of the girls. I’ve never appliqued before but it was surprisingly easier than I expected.

presents

These are the cell phone shots I had of the rest of the presents. So. Some explanations. That dog ornament is not the finished product and I don’t think you’re missing much because I couldn’t get the fur color right and just ended up painting it gold anyways. I promise the dog it’s modeled after is much cuter. The pink fabric with dots eventually got turned into a headband that I did like but didn’t take a picture of. Whomp whomp. The designs are burned into the spoons on the bottom left and I was actually pretty happy with those considering how unwieldy the etcher was.

And the bag. I think it’s hilarious but I might be the only one.

scarf

This is one of the presents that I received! It’s an infinity scarf that my friend crocheted. And it’s so soft and fluffy and I love it! Crochet is one of those things that I just don’t get. I’ve tried to learn countless times and it just never ends well.

Some random pictures from the activities we’ve been doing lately:

DSC_0668b

A trip to the Children’s Museum

DSC_0792b

This was at a reptile farm that had a neat little zoo in the back. Please to be noting that there is a goat trying to eat my shirt in this top picture.

DSC_0706bb2

DSC_0696b

A visit to the park.

DSC_0129b

And I finally managed to finish refinishing our new dining room table! Which has been in the garage for almost 6 months…

table

And used to look like this:

table2

DSC_0562b

I’m leaving you with this peacock picture. Because I can.

Leave a Reply

