Rae Shirt by Refugee Crafter

Another nice free pattern available! The last post on this blog was in 2012 but there are a lot of old posts to look through. This shirt is a size 12 months but is really roomy and will probably still fit at 18 months and then some.

DSC_0126b

The pattern also comes with instructions that have color photographs of each step.

DSC_0132b

My favorite part are these little pleats. They aren’t as prominent with this busy fabric but I think they’re a sweet touch. Attaching the neck binding was a little tricky but the instructions did a good job of explaining it. If I were to make this again I might try to finish the neck with facings but I do really like the coordinating color the bias tape adds.

DSC_0130b

The sleeves are actually the 3/4 length option (it comes with a long sleeve option as well) but are still pretty long. They aren’t really long sleeves or 3/4 at the moment but the shirt still has a lot of growing room. One more note on the sleeves, I ended up having a sleeve that was a bit too big for the opening. The pattern didn’t address this so I just gathered them until they fit and ended up with more of a puff sleeve. I think it’s cute but I don’t think it was meant to be this way since there was nothing in the instructions about it. It’s entirely possible I cut it out wrong in the first place.

DSC_0161b

I didn’t get a good picture of the back but it closes with buttons all the way down. I wish I had gotten one though because I used cute little shell buttons shaped like hearts.

Leave a Reply

