Japanese Pattern by Ham*a

I love Japanese children’s patterns. They always seem so floaty and comfortable. I can’t actually read Japanese but this post has the pattern and instructions link that I downloaded the pattern from.

DSC_0219b

The sizing is obviously Japanese sizes but this chart is what I used to reference for converting to American sizes. Also the pattern doesn’t have seem allowances but the instructions give a diagram for adding them. The elastic at the shoulders was the only place that really tripped me up but I’ve actually made this once before so I had the benefit of trial and error. 

IMG_3336

My first time making the shirt (my first time using a Japanese pattern ever).

DSC_0174b

The first top was a size 80 and at 8 months old it fit perfectly. This new one is a 100 and obviously too big! I sewed up the arm opening more after trying it on her and it fits much better but still has plenty of room to grow, and I can unpick those stitches if necessary. I knew it would be too big but I don’t know if I can bear watching her grow out of it because I love the fabric so much!

DSC_0223b

Look at the little lampposts!

DSC_0190b

DSC_0179b

4 thoughts on “Japanese Pattern by Ham*a

    • It’s definitely not as hard as I originally tried to make it lol. What I did was iron down a 1/4″ on both the front and back shoulders then sewed them together as usual with a 5/8 seam then when you press your seam open you sew down that 1/4″ you pressed in the beginning to make a casing for the elastic. I hope that helps if you do give it a go! I imagine the real directions are more helpful but I can’t read them :P

  1. Pingback: Fine and Dandelion | button bridge

Leave a Reply

